Quebec

Quebec's Landscape

While Canadians celebrate their country on July 1st, at Encore Travel we wanted to dedicate the entire month to the country with the maple leaf.

Every week, we offer you to (re)discover the provinces of the country. Welcome to Canada Month!

Week 2 – Quebec, “where the river narrows”

Did you know that Quebec comes from the Algonquin word “Kebec” which means “where the river narrows”? Well this is probably not the only fun fact you will learn today about the Canadian French speaking province!

Quebec is located in eastern Canada. Its largest city, Montreal, is about 64 kilometers (40 miles) north of the U.S. border. Quebec is the largest Canadian province in area (though the territory of Nunavut is larger) and the second largest in population, after Ontario.

Quebec is a mainly French-speaking society, and the defense of its language and culture colors all politics in the province. In fact, over 95% of the population is French speaking but more than 40% can speak both English and French. After Paris, the world’s largest French speaking city is Montreal. Quebec’s population is over 8 million. 

Most inhabitants live in urban areas near the Saint Lawrence River between Montreal and Quebec City. Approximately half of Quebec residents live in the Greater Montreal Area, including the Island of Montreal. And even if Montreal is the largest city of the province, Quebec City is the capital.

Here is another fun fact for you: did you know that the province of Quebec is Canada’s greatest producer of maple syrup?

Main Quebec Industries

The service sector dominates the economy, though the province’s abundance of natural resources resulted in highly developed agriculture, manufacturing, energy, mining, forestry and transportation industries. 

Provincial profile

Source : investcanada.ca

Historic cobblestone neighbourhoods, bustling markets, outstanding National Parks, cosmopolitan cities and startup-friendly cost of living, Québec offers a winning combination of lifestyle and business excellence. Well known for its innovative spirit and creativity of its multilingual workforce, this province offers a jumping point to grow a global business. With an integrated system of colleges and universities offering programs tailored to industry needs, Québec has become a centre of research and innovation.

Industry insights

When it comes to aerospace, Québec means innovation. Major R&D investors such as Pratt & Whitney, Bombardier Aerospace, and CAE operate in the province.  As headquarters to the Canadian Space Agency and home to educational institutions, research centres and associations, Québec offers the right ecosystem to support business acceleration.

Earning a reputation for its creativity, artistic flair and mastery of leading animation technologies, Québec’s multimedia industry welcomes new players each year and is a leader in growth sectors such as virtual reality. World leading publishers in Québec include Ubisoft Québec, Electronic Arts, Warner Brothers and Gameloft.

Montréal boasts the largest concentration of artificial intelligence researchers in the world, thanks in part to the efforts of Université de Montréal professor Yoshua Bengio, one of the founding fathers of the deep learning movement and head of the Montréal Institute for Learning Algorithms (MILA). This has attracted major investments from Google’s Deepmind, Microsoft, Facebook, Thales and Samsung.

Spotlights on Montreal and Quebec City

Montréal

Montréal is the largest city in the province of Québec, with a population of 4 million.

Bienvenue à Montréal! This metropolitan region is the second most populous city in Canada and boasts a patchwork of cultures and languages that allow people from different nationalities to thrive. As a city of great charm, providing a window into a rich French history enveloped with a modern-day technology ecosystem, Montréal offers investors a distinct location for business expansion.

Emerging as a powerhouse for artificial intelligence (AI), Montréal has become headquarters to SCALE.AI (Supply Chains And Logistics Excellence.AI), Canada’s business-led AI consortium supercluster. SCALE.AI will shape a new global supply chain platform and bolster Canada’s leadership in AI internationally.

Montréal is a world leader in video game production and home to global brands and world-leading studios such as Ubisoft, Electronic Arts, and Warner Brothers.

With a rich and diverse industrial base and access to a critical mass of businesses, universities and research centres—Montréal is one of the world’s three main aerospace centres, along with Seattle and Toulouse.

Québec City

Québec City is the capital of the province of Québec, Canada with a population of 791,934.

A North American city with European flair overlooking the St. Lawrence River, Québec City encompasses a vibrant business ecosystem with amenities of a megacity surrounded by old world charm.  Here you’ll find a culture of cooperation with a tightly knit community bound together by a strong network of social and economic ties. Québec City has numerous innovation platforms and synergies between the booming research sector and its dynamic and creative entrepreneurial community. This environment is perfect for creating, developing, and optimizing your business for global success.

Québec City ranked in the top 3 among Canadian, US and European cities for research and development expenditures (as a percentage of GDP).  As a hub for world-leading research, this region is an incubator for modern techniques that revolutionize a wide variety of industries. From vaccines, medical technologies to advancements in telecommunications, Québec City is home to global leaders. 

The evolution of geospatial technologies has transformed traditional maps into powerful digital databases. Thanks to collaboration between regional companies specializing in geospatial solutions, software, databases and telecommunications, Québec City has become a unique point of convergence for these technologies.

The Québec City metropolitan region has emerged as a major player in the Canadian video game industry, with Ubisoft or Beenox studios, affiliated with publishing giants, and Frima Studio, Québec’s premier multiplatform game developer.

Sources:

http://www.investcanada.ca/locations/quebec

https://www.raiseyourbrain.com/23-amazing-quebec-facts/

https://www.thoughtco.com/quebec-facts-508584

Female Business Travellers: Unlike the Others

While inequality between male and female salaries is something that continues to linger in the corporate world, we’ve observed an increase in positive discrimination towards female business travellers in the last few years.


Millenials Travel Trends

Millennials Travel Trends : Shaping The Hotel Industry

Today, millennials make up between 22-27% of the population. By 2030, they will represent 76% of the employed population. It is therefore essential that the travel industry adapts to these millennials travel trends.


Air Canada airline fares: decoded

Travelling isn’t always so cut and dry – especially when it comes to air travel. In light of this, we decided to decipher Air Canada’s fare classes and let you know the perks that come with each for the next time you travel.


Explore: Enterprise Rent-a-Car’s Canadian Fleet

Creating, implementing and managing a car rental program can be a major headache for any Travel Manager. Which types of cars should you allow your travellers to use? Here is a useful infographic that will help you navigate Enterprise Rent-a-Car's Canadian Fleet.


Is it Time to Incorporate Home-Sharing in Business Travel?

We, at Encore Travel, decided to put together a list of the pros and cons regarding the addition of home-sharing in business travel policies.

Quebec

Paysage du Quebec

Alors que les canadiens célèbrent leur pays le 1er juillet, chez Voyages Encore nous souhaitions dédier tout le mois au pays à la feuille d’érable.

Chaque semaine, nous vous proposons de (re)découvrir les provinces du pays. Bienvenue dans le mois du Canada !

Semaine 2 – Québec, “ Là où le fleuve se rétrécit”

Saviez-vous que le mot Québec vient du mot algonquin «Kebec» qui signifie «où la rivière se rétrécit» ? Eh bien, ce n’est probablement pas le seul fun fact que vous apprendrez aujourd’hui au sujet de la province francophone du Canada !

 

Le Québec est situé dans l’est du Canada. Sa plus grande ville, Montréal, se trouve à environ 64 kilomètres (40 miles) au nord de la frontière américaine. Le Québec est la plus grande province canadienne en superficie (bien que le territoire du Nunavut soit le plus grand) et la deuxième en importance en termes de population, après l’Ontario.

 

Le Québec est une province majoritairement francophone et la défense de sa langue et de sa culture colore toute sa politique. En effet, plus de 95% de la population est francophone, et plus de 40% peuvent parler anglais et français. Après Paris, la plus grande ville francophone du monde est Montréal. La population du Québec est supérieure à 8 millions.

 

La plupart des habitants vivent dans des zones urbaines près du fleuve Saint-Laurent entre Montréal et Québec. Environ la moitié des résidents du Québec vivent dans la grande région de Montréal, y compris l’île de Montréal. Et même si Montréal est la plus grande ville de la province, Québec en est la capitale.

 

Voici un autre fun fact pour vous : saviez-vous que le Québec est le plus grand producteur de sirop d’érable au Canada ?

Industries principales du Québec

Le secteur tertiaire domine l’économie, bien que l’abondance des ressources naturelles de la province ait permis à d’autres secteurs de se développer : comme l’agriculture, la fabrication, l’énergie, les mines, la foresterie et les transports.

Profil de la province

Source : investcanada.ca

Quartiers historiques aux rues pavées, marchés animés, parcs nationaux exceptionnels, villes cosmopolites et coût de la vie idéal pour s’établir, le Québec offre une combinaison gagnante de style de vie et d’excellence en affaires. Bien connue pour son esprit d’innovation et la créativité de sa main-d’œuvre multilingue, cette province est l’endroit idéal pour s’attaquer au marché mondial. Grâce à un réseau intégré de collèges et d’universités offrant des programmes adaptés aux besoins de l’industrie, le Québec est devenu un centre de recherche et d’innovation.

L’industrie en marche

Dans le domaine de l’aérospatiale, le Québec est synonyme d’innovation. D’importants investisseurs en R et D comme Pratt & Whitney, Bombardier Aéronautique et CAE sont présents dans la province. Abritant le siège social de l’Agence spatiale canadienne, des établissements d’enseignement, des centres de recherche et des associations, le Québec offre l’écosystème idéal pour soutenir la croissance des entreprises. 

Reconnue pour sa créativité, son sens artistique et sa maîtrise des technologies d’animation de pointe, l’industrie du multimédia du Québec accueille chaque année de nouveaux joueurs et est un chef de file dans des secteurs de croissance comme la réalité virtuelle. Les principaux éditeurs mondiaux au Québec comprennent Ubisoft Québec, Electronic Arts, Warner Brothers et Gameloft.

Montréal possède la plus grande concentration de chercheurs en intelligence artificielle au monde, en partie grâce aux efforts du professeur Yoshua Bengio de l’Université de Montréal, l’un des pères fondateurs du mouvement d’apprentissage profond et chef de l’Institut des algorithmes d’apprentissage de Montréal (MILA). Cela a permis d’attirer des investissements majeurs de la part de Google Deepmind, Microsoft, Facebook, Thales et Samsung.  

Projecteurs sur Montréal et Québec

Montréal

Montréal est la plus grande ville de la province du Québec avec une population de 4 millions d’habitants.

Montréal est la plus grande ville du Québec avec Bienvenue à Montréal! Cette région métropolitaine est la deuxième ville la plus peuplée du Canada et possède une mosaïque de cultures et de langues qui permettent aux gens de différentes nationalités de prospérer. En tant que ville de grand charme, offrant une fenêtre sur une riche histoire française entourée d’un écosystème technologique moderne, Montréal offre aux investisseurs un endroit unique pour l’expansion de leur entreprise. population de 4 millions d’habitants.

Émergeant comme moteur d’innovation pour le secteur de l’intelligence artificielle (IA), Montréal est devenue le siège social de SCALE.AI (chaînes d’approvisionnement et logistique d’excellence.AI), le superamas du consortium AI canadien dirigé par des entreprises. SCALE.AI façonnera une nouvelle plateforme mondiale de chaîne d’approvisionnement et renforcera le leadership du Canada en matière d’IA à l’échelle internationale. 

Montréal est un chef de file mondial dans la production de jeux vidéo et abrite des marques mondiales et des studios de premier plan comme Ubisoft, Electronic Arts et Warner Brothers. 

Avec une base industrielle riche et diversifiée et un accès à une masse critique d’entreprises, d’universités et de centres de recherche, Montréal est l’un des trois principaux centres aérospatiaux au monde, avec Seattle et Toulouse.

Québec

La ville de Québec est la capitale de la province de Québec avec une population de 791 934 habitants.

Ville nord-américaine d’inspiration européenne surplombant le fleuve Saint-Laurent, la ville de Québec englobe un écosystème d’affaires dynamique avec des aménagements d’une mégalopole offrant le charme du monde de jadis. Vous y trouverez une culture de coopération avec une communauté étroitement liée par un solide réseau de liens sociaux et économiques. La ville de Québec dispose de nombreuses plateformes d’innovation et de synergies entre le secteur de la recherche en plein essor et sa communauté entrepreneuriale dynamique et créative. Cet environnement est idéal pour créer, développer et optimiser votre entreprise pour un succès à l’échelle mondiale.

La ville de Québec figure parmi les trois premières villes canadiennes, américaines et européennes en importance en matière de dépenses pour la R et D (en pourcentage du PIB). En tant que centre de recherche de pointe de calibre mondial, cette région est un incubateur de techniques modernes qui révolutionnent diverses industries. Qu’il s’agisse de vaccins, de technologies médicales ou de progrès dans le domaine des télécommunications, la ville de Québec compte des chefs de file mondiaux. 

L’évolution des technologies géospatiales a transformé les cartes traditionnelles en de puissantes bases de données numériques. Grâce à la collaboration entre les entreprises régionales spécialisées dans les solutions géospatiales, les logiciels, les bases de données et les télécommunications, la ville de Québec est devenue un point de convergence unique pour ces technologies.

La région métropolitaine de Québec s’est imposée comme un acteur majeur de l’industrie des jeux vidéo au Canada, avec les studios Ubisoft ou Beenox, affiliés aux géants de l’édition, et Frima Studio, développeur de jeux multiplateformes le plus important au Québec.

Sources :

http://www.investcanada.ca/locations/quebec

 

https://www.raiseyourbrain.com/23-amazing-quebec-facts/

 

https://www.thoughtco.com/quebec-facts-508584

Millenials Travel Trends

Habitudes de voyage des milléniaux: l’industrie hôtelière en transformation

Aujourd’hui, les milléniaux représentent entre 22 et 27% de la population. D’ici 2030, ils représenteront 76% de la masse salariale. Il apparait donc comme indispensable que l’industrie du voyage s’adapte à ces voyageurs.


Décryptage des classes de tarifs Air Canada

Voyager n'est pas toujours simple, surtout lorsqu'il s'agit de voyager en avion. Ainsi, nous avons décidé de décrypter les classes tarifaires d'Air Canada et de vous faire présenter les avantages qui les accompagnent. Cela vous aidera la prochaine fois que vous voyagerez.


Devrait-on utiliser un véhicule personnel pour les voyages professionnels ?

Décider de permettre ou non à vos employés d'utiliser leur véhicule personnel pour des voyages d'affaires peut être une décision difficile à prendre. Pour prendre cette décision, il faut tenir compte des besoins de vos employés et de votre organisation. Revoyons les avantages et les inconvénients de l'utilisation d'un véhicule personnel !


Explorez : La flotte canadienne des véhicules d’Enterprise Rent-a-Car

La création, la mise en œuvre et la gestion d'un programme de location de voitures peut être un casse-tête majeur pour tout gestionnaire de voyages. Quels types de voitures devriez-vous permettre à vos voyageurs de louer ? Voici une infographie utile qui vous aidera à parcourir la flotte canadienne des véhicules d'Enterprise Rent-a-Car.


Est-il Temps d’Intégrer l‘Hébergement chez l’Hôte lors des Voyages d’Affaires ?

Nous avons décidé de vous concocter une liste des pours et des contres dont nous vous recommandons de tenir compte afin d'évaluer s'il est temps pour votre entreprise d'autoriser l'hébergement chez l'hôte dans votre politique de voyage.