Ontario

Ontario's river

While Canadians celebrate their country on July 1st, at Encore Travel we wanted to dedicate the entire month to the country with the maple leaf.

Every week, we offer you to (re)discover the provinces of the country. Welcome to Canada Month!

Week 3 – Ontario, where the cities meet nature

Nobody is really sure about the exact translation of “Ontario”.  We know that “Ontario” comes from an Iroquois word meaning beautiful water, beautiful lake or big body of water.

Ontario is Canada’s second largest province, covering more than 1 million square kilometres (415,000 square miles). It’s larger than France and Spain combined! Ontario contains one-fifth of the world’s fresh water, in more than 250,000 lakes.

The official language of Ontario is English, and there are several French-speaking communities across the province. French language rights have been extended to the province’s legal and educational systems.

Most Ontario cities and towns have carefully preserved historic buildings. Some towns, like Niagara-on-the-Lake and Elora, make a special effort to preserve their history. Toronto’s legislative building and Ottawa’s parliament building well travelled through times. From a wilderness expedition in the north, to a “shop till you drop into your theatre seat” city excursion, Ontario offers various experiences to travellers.

Here is a fun fact for you: the comic book character “Superman” was first drawn by comic artist Joe Schuster, who was born in Toronto.

Provincial profile

Source : investcanada.ca

Ontario lies in the core of the North American Free Trade area, which includes more than 460 million people and generates a combined gross domestic product of more than $18 trillion.

From bustling urban centres, iconic destinations, and culturally diverse neighbourhoods to majestic lake shorelines, you’ll discover game-changing start-ups, multinational leaders and highly regarded academic institutions in Canada’s largest province. Ontario provides vast opportunity for businesses keen to grow and acquire an abundance of sophisticated talent to come up with breakthrough concepts and technologies. As the largest IT region in North America outside of Silicon Valley, you can collaborate with universities, R&D facilities, and a network of incubators and accelerators to quickly drive innovation from lab to market.

Industry insights

Home to the largest manufacturing sectors in North America, Ontario is driving the future of intelligent transportation. Based in Ontario, the Advanced Manufacturing Supercluster will contribute to the next-generation of manufacturing capabilities, incorporating advanced robotics, 3D printing, cybersecurity and artificial intelligence.

As the centre of Canada’s financial services industry, investors will find a rapidly growing fintech companies with expertise in digital banking, mobile payments, cybersecurity, and trading analytics.

Leading in programs and policies that support clean technology solutions, Ontario has become home to a critical mass of cleantech companies. Combined with a global demand for clean water solutions and proximity to large bodies of freshwater, this province is home to a large concentration of the water innovation ecosystem.

Spotlights on Ottawa and Toronto

Ottawa

Ottawa is the capital of Canada located in the province of Ontario. The National Capital Region includes the City of Ottawa in Ontario and the City of Gatineau in Québec. The region has a population of 1.3 million.

For decades, Ottawa has been a global tech leader in Canada’s industrial telecommunications research and development. Today, the nation’s capital is home to Canada’s largest technology park. As a G7 capital, Ottawa is the political heartbeat of Canada with proximity to a large concentration of policy makers, government departments, and direct access to 130 embassies and 65 federal research labs.

Ottawa is home to three national Networks of Centres of Excellence (NCE). The networks include; the Stem Cell Network, Biotherapeutics for Cancer Treatment (BioCanRx) and the Center of Excellence for Next Generation Networks (CENGN).

Location for key players in the 5G revolution and equipped with the right caliber of talent, Ford Motor, Blackberry QNX, and Apple are some of the companies actively working on autonomous vehicles in the nation’s capital.

Ottawa is home to Canada’s first enterprise SaaS accelerator (L-SPARK), and leading Canadian SaaS conference (SaaS North), making the city a prominent destination for global innovation and talent.

Toronto

Toronto is the capital city of the province of Ontario. The Toronto Region represents the Cities of Toronto, Mississauga, and Brampton, and the Regional Municipalities of York, Durham and Halton, with a regional population of over 6.4 million. Toronto is the most multicultural city in the world. With a strong transit system, and growing prominence as a start-up hub, the Toronto Region offers urban, suburban and rural investment opportunities.

Representing the fourth largest city in North America, the region’s talent pool draws on high-quality expertise needed for expanding businesses. Toronto also has a high concentration of cultural facilities such as major sporting and performing arts venues, museums, and a diverse local arts scene – featuring activities and business events around every corner.

As Canada’s financial capital, the Toronto Region is the second largest and fastest growing financial services centre in North America. With a strong concentration of technology and financial companies, Toronto offers a foundation for growth and development in a vibrant FinTech ecosystem.

Artificial intelligence, machine learning or big data, technology that is teaching computers to think is dominating the next wave of digital technology. Encompassing global players such as Uber and Samsung, alongside Vector Institute, which aims to produce the world’s largest number of deep learning graduates, Toronto is poised to be a major player in the future of technology.

Representing the most diverse city in the world with 51% of the population being foreign-born, the Toronto Region is home to over 240 ethnic groups speaking over 170 languages, offering businesses a multilingual and highly skilled talent pool. With 11 colleges and universities across the region, Toronto boasts an exceptional range of highly-ranked post-secondary institutions that produce precisely the kind of talent international businesses need to gain a competitive edge.

Sources:

http://www.investcanada.ca/locations/ontario

https://www.ontario.ca/page/about-ontario

Female Business Travellers: Unlike the Others

While inequality between male and female salaries is something that continues to linger in the corporate world, we’ve observed an increase in positive discrimination towards female business travellers in the last few years.


Millenials Travel Trends

Millennials Travel Trends : Shaping The Hotel Industry

Today, millennials make up between 22-27% of the population. By 2030, they will represent 76% of the employed population. It is therefore essential that the travel industry adapts to these millennials travel trends.


Air Canada airline fares: decoded

Travelling isn’t always so cut and dry – especially when it comes to air travel. In light of this, we decided to decipher Air Canada’s fare classes and let you know the perks that come with each for the next time you travel.


Explore: Enterprise Rent-a-Car’s Canadian Fleet

Creating, implementing and managing a car rental program can be a major headache for any Travel Manager. Which types of cars should you allow your travellers to use? Here is a useful infographic that will help you navigate Enterprise Rent-a-Car's Canadian Fleet.


Is it Time to Incorporate Home-Sharing in Business Travel?

We, at Encore Travel, decided to put together a list of the pros and cons regarding the addition of home-sharing in business travel policies.

Ontario

Rivière en Ontario

Alors que les canadiens célèbrent leur pays le 1er juillet, chez Voyages Encore nous souhaitions dédier tout le mois au pays à la feuille d’érable.

Chaque semaine, nous vous proposons de (re)découvrir les provinces du pays. Bienvenue dans le mois du Canada !

Week 3 – Ontario, entre villes et nature

Personne n’est vraiment certain de la traduction du mot «Ontario». Nous savons que «Ontario» vient d’un mot iroquois qui signifie belle eau, beau lac ou grand plan d’eau.

L’Ontario est la deuxième plus grande province du Canada, couvrant plus de 1 million de kilomètres carrés (415 000 milles carrés). Sa superficie est ainsi plus grande que celle de la France et de l’Espagne réunies ! L’Ontario contient le cinquième de l’eau douce du monde, avec plus de 250 000 lacs.

La langue officielle de l’Ontario est l’anglais, et il y a plusieurs communautés francophones à travers la province. Les droits linguistiques en français ont été étendus aux systèmes juridiques et éducatifs de la province.

La plupart des villes et villages d’Ontario ont soigneusement conservé des bâtiments historiques. Certaines villes, comme Niagara-on-the-Lake et Elora, font un effort particulier pour préserver leur histoire. Le bâtiment législatif de Toronto et le parlement d’Ottawa ont bien voyagé à travers les époques. D’une expédition en pleine nature dans le Nord à une excursion en ville jusqu’à l’entrée dans une salle de cinéma, l’Ontario offre diverses expériences aux voyageurs.

Voici un petit fait intéressant pour vous : le personnage de bande dessinée « Superman » a été dessiné pour la première fois par le dessinateur Joe Schuster, né à Toronto.

Profil de la province

Source : investcanada.ca

L’Ontario se trouve au cœur de la zone de libre-échange nord-américaine, qui comprend plus de 460 millions de personnes et génère un produit intérieur brut combiné de plus de 18 billions de dollars.

Des centres urbains dynamiques, aux destinations emblématiques en passant par des quartiers culturellement diversifiés et de majestueuses rives lacustres, vous découvrirez aussi des jeunes entreprises innovantes, de grandes multinationales et des établissements d’enseignement hautement réputés dans la plus grande province du Canada. L’Ontario offre de vastes possibilités aux entreprises désireuses de croître et d’acquérir une abondance de talents d’avant garde pour mettre au point des concepts et des technologies révolutionnaires. En tant que plus grand pôle informatique d’Amérique du Nord après la Silicon Valley, il est ici possible de collaborer avec des universités, des installations de R et D et un réseau d’incubateurs et d’accélérateurs pour faire passer rapidement l’innovation du laboratoire au marché.

L’industrie en marche

L’Ontario, qui abrite les plus grands secteurs manufacturiers d’Amérique du Nord, est le moteur du transport intelligent de demain. Basée en Ontario, la Supergrappe de la fabrication de pointe contribuera à la prochaine génération de capacités de fabrication, en intégrant la robotique de pointe, l’impression 3D, la cybersécurité et l’intelligence artificielle.

En tant que centre de l’industrie des services financiers du Canada, les investisseurs trouveront en Ontario des entreprises de technologie de pointe en pleine croissance qui possèdent une expertise en matière de services bancaires numériques, de paiements mobiles, de cybersécurité et d’analyse commerciale.

Chef de file en matière de programmes et de politiques à l’appui des solutions technologiques propres, l’Ontario est devenu le foyer d’une masse critique d’entreprises de technologies propres. Grâce à une demande mondiale pour des solutions d’eau propre et à la proximité de vastes étendues d’eau douce, cette province abrite une grande concentration de l’écosystème de l’innovation dans le domaine de l’eau.

Projecteurs sur Ottawa et Toronto

Ottawa

Ottawa est la capitale du Canada. La région de la capitale nationale comprend la ville d’Ottawa et la ville de Gatineau, au Québec. La région compte plus de 1,3 million d’habitants.

Depuis des décennies, Ottawa est un chef de file mondial de la recherche et du développement dans le domaine des télécommunications industrielles au Canada. Aujourd’hui, la capitale nationale abrite le plus grand parc technologique du Canada. En tant que capitale du G7, Ottawa est le cœur politique du Canada, avec une importante concentration de décideurs et de ministères à proximité, ainsi qu’un accès direct à 130 ambassades et 65 laboratoires de recherche fédéraux.

Ottawa abrite trois Réseaux de centres d’excellence (RCE) nationaux. Les réseaux comprennent; le Réseau de cellules souches, Biotherapeutics for Cancer Treatment (BioCanRx) et le Centre d’excellence pour les réseaux de prochaine génération (CERPG).

Accueillant les acteurs clés de la révolution 5G et équipés du talent approprié, Ford Motor, Blackberry QNX et Apple sont quelques-unes des entreprises qui travaillent activement sur les véhicules autonomes dans la capitale nationale.

Ottawa abrite le premier accélérateur SaaS d’entreprise (L-SPARK) et la principale conférence SaaS du Canada (SaaS North), ce qui fait de la ville une destination de choix pour l’innovation et le talent à l’échelle mondiale.

Toronto

Toronto est la capitale de la province de l’Ontario. La région de Toronto, qui englobe les villes de Toronto, Mississauga et Brampton ainsi que les communautés urbaines de York, de Durham et d’Halton, compte une population de 6,4 millions d’habitants. Toronto est la ville la plus multiculturelle au monde. Avec un bon système de transport en commun et une importance croissante en tant que centre de démarrage, la région de Toronto offre des possibilités d’investissement en milieu urbain, suburbain et rural.

Toronto étant la quatrième ville en importance en Amérique du Nord, sa région dispose d’un large bassin de talents, qui possèdent l’expertise de haute qualité nécessaire à l’expansion des entreprises. La ville possède également une forte concentration d’installations culturelles, telles que de grands centres sportifs et artistiques, des musées et une scène artistique locale diversifiée, qui présentent des activités et des événements d’affaires à chaque coin de rue.

En tant que capitale financière du Canada, la région de Toronto est le deuxième centre de services financiers en importance et celui dont la croissance est la plus rapide en Amérique du Nord. Avec une forte concentration d’entreprises technologiques et financières, Toronto offre une base pour la croissance et le développement dans un écosystème FinTech dynamique.

Qu’il soit question d’intelligence artificielle (IA), d’apprentissage machine ou de données massives, la technologie qui enseigne aux ordinateurs à penser domine la prochaine vague de technologie numérique. Englobant des acteurs mondiaux tels que Uber et Samsung, ainsi que Vector Institute, qui vise à produire le plus grand nombre de diplômés en apprentissage profond au monde, Toronto est sur le point d’être un acteur majeur dans l’avenir de la technologie.

Avec 51 % de sa population née à l’étranger, Toronto est la ville la plus diversifiée au monde : la région de Toronto compte plus de 240 groupes ethniques parlant plus de 170 langues. Cette diversité offre aux entreprises un bassin de talents multilingues et hautement qualifiés. Abritant onze collèges et universités, la région de Toronto possède une gamme exceptionnelle d’établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire de premier ordre, qui forment précisément le type de talents dont les entreprises internationales ont besoin pour acquérir un avantage concurrentiel.

Sources:

http://www.investcanada.ca/locations/ontario

https://www.ontario.ca/page/about-ontario

Millenials Travel Trends

Habitudes de voyage des milléniaux: l’industrie hôtelière en transformation

Aujourd’hui, les milléniaux représentent entre 22 et 27% de la population. D’ici 2030, ils représenteront 76% de la masse salariale. Il apparait donc comme indispensable que l’industrie du voyage s’adapte à ces voyageurs.


Décryptage des classes de tarifs Air Canada

Voyager n'est pas toujours simple, surtout lorsqu'il s'agit de voyager en avion. Ainsi, nous avons décidé de décrypter les classes tarifaires d'Air Canada et de vous faire présenter les avantages qui les accompagnent. Cela vous aidera la prochaine fois que vous voyagerez.


Devrait-on utiliser un véhicule personnel pour les voyages professionnels ?

Décider de permettre ou non à vos employés d'utiliser leur véhicule personnel pour des voyages d'affaires peut être une décision difficile à prendre. Pour prendre cette décision, il faut tenir compte des besoins de vos employés et de votre organisation. Revoyons les avantages et les inconvénients de l'utilisation d'un véhicule personnel !


Explorez : La flotte canadienne des véhicules d’Enterprise Rent-a-Car

La création, la mise en œuvre et la gestion d'un programme de location de voitures peut être un casse-tête majeur pour tout gestionnaire de voyages. Quels types de voitures devriez-vous permettre à vos voyageurs de louer ? Voici une infographie utile qui vous aidera à parcourir la flotte canadienne des véhicules d'Enterprise Rent-a-Car.


Est-il Temps d’Intégrer l‘Hébergement chez l’Hôte lors des Voyages d’Affaires ?

Nous avons décidé de vous concocter une liste des pours et des contres dont nous vous recommandons de tenir compte afin d'évaluer s'il est temps pour votre entreprise d'autoriser l'hébergement chez l'hôte dans votre politique de voyage.