British Columbia

British Columbia Lake

While Canadians celebrate their country on July 1st, at Encore Travel we wanted to dedicate the entire month to the country with the maple leaf.

Every week, we offer you to (re)discover the provinces of the country. Welcome to Canada Month!

Week 4 – British Columbia, The Great West

Welcome to British Columbia, Canada’s most westerly province! The mountainous province is the third largest in the country, after Quebec and Ontario: it occupies 10% of Canada’s surface area. The population is concentrated mainly in the southwestern region.

With nearly 7,000 km of coastline, the province is divided into two regions: “the Coast” and “the Interior”. The Lower Mainland is the commercial, industrial and cultural center. The area includes the City of Victoria and the southeast coast of Vancouver Island. About 20% of the province’s population lives there.

Another interesting fact is that the forest covers about 60% of the territory of British Columbia. It accounts for approximately 19.5% of Canada’s forest land. The province is also rich in mineral resources: lead, zinc, gold, silver, molybdenum, copper and iron.

British Columbians have always lived primarily in cities. Greater Vancouver is the largest city in the province. British Columbia has three other metropolitan areas: Abbotsford-Mission, Kelowna and Victoria, the capital. Also, British Columbia is one of the most diverse provinces in the country, ethnically. The Chinese and South Asians are the main communities that make up the visible minority population of British Columbia.

Provincial Profile

Source : investcanada.ca

British Columbia offers rugged nature, metropolitan cities, a clean environment, and a culturally diverse population, making it easy to recruit and retain top talent from across the globe.

Located at the crossroads of Asia-Pacific and North America, British Columbia offers businesses a mix of expertise and language capabilities. World-class educational institutions, entrepreneurial networks, regional industry clusters, technology acceleration and commercialization programs combine to support both established and emerging companies.

Industry Insights

British Columbia boasts a globally-recognized technology hub. The region promotes connections between top-ranked universities, colleges and institutions, and hosts giants including Amazon, Sony, Electronic Arts, Microsoft, Oracle, SAP, IBM, and Disney.

BC is home to Canada’s Digital Technology Supercluster, a collaborative effort of over 200 organisations, including some of Canada’s biggest names in healthcare, telecommunications, natural resources, computing and transportation. As a collective, this supercluster applies data and uses technology in new ways, such as mixed reality, which can digitally transform companies, solve industry problems, and advance economic opportunities throughout BC, Canada, and the world.

Rich in renewable energy resources, the province is well positioned for clean technology research, development and deployment. Many BC companies are recognized nationally and globally for their leadership in areas of clean and renewable energy, including hydrogen and fuel cells, clean transportation, energy management/energy efficiency, renewable energy, and water and waste resource management.

Spotlights on Vancouver

Vancouver is the largest city in the province of British Columbia with a population of 2.5 million.

Vancouver is celebrated for its striking natural beauty, surrounded by the majestic Rocky Mountains, sparkling Pacific Ocean, lush rainforests and beautiful foliage throughout all four seasons. Boasting a mild year-round climate, the city’s compact size invites locals to stroll colourful sidewalks, savour spectacular settings and soak in a wide range of urban vibes with roots in many different cultures. A short flight to Asia will open your business to global opportunities.

Among the greenest international cities in the world, driven largely by its progressive thinking around sustainability, Vancouver is leading the way to a low-carbon future. This has resulted in the city attracting a wide variety of cleantech companies with innovators to watch.

Home to the largest and best VFX, Animation and video game clusters in the world. Companies operating in Vancouver include Sony Pictures Imageworks, Industrial Light & Magic (ILM), Piranha Games and EA Canada, among others.

Vancouver cultivated three of Canada’s five tech unicorns (or narwals as we say in Canada), namely Slack, Hootsuite and Avigilon.

Sources :

https://www.encyclopediecanadienne.ca/fr/article/colombie-britannique/

http://www.investircanada.ca/

Female Business Travellers: Unlike the Others

While inequality between male and female salaries is something that continues to linger in the corporate world, we’ve observed an increase in positive discrimination towards female business travellers in the last few years.


Millenials Travel Trends

Millennials Travel Trends : Shaping The Hotel Industry

Today, millennials make up between 22-27% of the population. By 2030, they will represent 76% of the employed population. It is therefore essential that the travel industry adapts to these millennials travel trends.


Air Canada airline fares: decoded

Travelling isn’t always so cut and dry – especially when it comes to air travel. In light of this, we decided to decipher Air Canada’s fare classes and let you know the perks that come with each for the next time you travel.


Explore: Enterprise Rent-a-Car’s Canadian Fleet

Creating, implementing and managing a car rental program can be a major headache for any Travel Manager. Which types of cars should you allow your travellers to use? Here is a useful infographic that will help you navigate Enterprise Rent-a-Car's Canadian Fleet.


Is it Time to Incorporate Home-Sharing in Business Travel?

We, at Encore Travel, decided to put together a list of the pros and cons regarding the addition of home-sharing in business travel policies.

British Columbia

Riviere Colombie Britannique

Alors que les canadiens célèbrent leur pays le 1er juillet, chez Voyages Encore nous souhaitions dédier tout le mois au pays à la feuille d’érable.

Chaque semaine, nous vous proposons de (re)découvrir les provinces du pays. Bienvenue dans le mois du Canada !

Week 4 – Colombie Britannique, le grand ouest

Bienvenue en Colombie-Britannique, la province la plus à l’ouest du Canada ! La province montagneuse est la troisième plus grande du pays, après le Québec et l’Ontario : elle occupe 10 % de la superficie du Canada. La population se concentre surtout dans la région du sud‑ouest.

Avec près de 7,000 km de littoral, la province se divise en deux régions : « la côte » et « l’intérieur ». Le « Lower Mainland » est le centre commercial, industriel et culturel. La zone comprend la ville de Victoria et la côte sud-est de l’île de Vancouver. Environ 20 % de la population de la province y réside.

Autre fait intéressant, la forêt recouvre environ 60 % du territoire de la Colombie‑Britannique. Elle constitue les terres forestières du Canada dans une proportion approximative de 19,5 %. La province abonde également en ressources minérales : plomb, zinc, or, argent, molybdène, cuivre et fer.

Les Britanno‑Colombiens ont toujours vécu principalement dans les villes. Le Grand Vancouver est la plus importante agglomération de la province. La Colombie‑Britannique compte trois autres régions métropolitaines : Abbotsford-Mission, Kelowna et Victoria, la capitale. Aussi, la Colombie‑Britannique est l’une des provinces les plus diversifiées du pays, sur le plan ethnique. Les Chinois et les Asiatiques du Sud correspondent aux principales communautés qui constituent la population des minorités visibles de la Colombie‑Britannique.

Profil de la province

Source : investcanada.ca

La Colombie-Britannique dispose d’une population culturellement diversifiée, ce qui facilite le recrutement et le maintien des meilleurs talents du monde entier.  

Située au carrefour de l’Asie-Pacifique et de l’Amérique du Nord, la Colombie-Britannique offre aux entreprises un mélange d’expertise et de compétences linguistiques. Des établissements d’enseignement de classe mondiale, des réseaux d’entrepreneurs, des grappes industrielles régionales, des programmes d’accélération technologique et de commercialisation se combinent pour soutenir les entreprises établies et émergentes.

L’industrie en marche

La Colombie-Britannique peut se vanter d’offrir une plaque tournante technologique reconnue à l’échelle mondiale. La région favorise les liens entre les universités, les collèges et les établissements de premier plan et est la terre d’accueil de géants comme Amazon, Sony, Electronic Arts, Microsoft, Oracle, SAP, IBM et Disney.

La Colombie-Britannique abrite la Supergrappe des technologies numériques du Canada, un effort de collaboration de plus de 200 organisations, y compris certains des plus grands noms des domaines des soins de santé, des télécommunications, des ressources naturelles, de l’informatique et des transports. En tant que collectif, cette supergrappe utilisera des données et des technologies de façons novatrices, comme la réalité mixte, qui peut transformer numériquement les entreprises, résoudre des problèmes de l’industrie et favoriser les possibilités économiques partout en Colombie-Britannique, au Canada et dans le monde.

Riche en ressources énergétiques renouvelables, la province est bien placée pour la recherche, le développement et le déploiement de technologies propres. De nombreuses entreprises de la Colombie-Britannique sont reconnues à l’échelle nationale et mondiale pour leur leadership dans les domaines de l’énergie propre et renouvelable, y compris l’hydrogène et les piles à combustible, le transport propre, la gestion de l’énergie et l’efficacité énergétique, l’énergie renouvelable et la gestion des ressources en eau et des déchets.

Projecteurs sur Vancouver

Vancouver est la plus grande ville de la Colombie-Britannique avec une population de 2,5 millions d’habitants.

Vancouver est célèbre pour sa beauté naturelle saisissante, entourée par les majestueuses montagnes Rocheuses, l’océan Pacifique étincelant, les forêts pluviales luxuriantes et le feuillage magnifique de ses arbres tout au long des quatre saisons. Bénéficiant d’un climat doux tout au long de l’année, la ville aux dimensions compactes invite les habitants à flâner sur les trottoirs colorés, à profiter de décors spectaculaires et à s’imprégner d’un large éventail d’atmosphères urbaines enracinées dans de nombreuses cultures différentes. Un vol court vers l’Asie vous permettra à vous et à votre entreprise de bénéficier d’occasions d’affaires à l’échelle mondiale.

Parmi les villes internationales les plus vertes au monde, en grande partie grâce à sa vision progressiste de la durabilité, Vancouver ouvre la voie à un avenir à faible teneur en carbone. Cela a permis à la ville d’attirer une grande variété d’entreprises de technologies propres et d’innovateurs à suivre.

Elle est le siège des plus grandes et meilleures grappes du secteur des effets visuels, de l’animation et des jeux vidéo au monde. Parmi les entreprises présentes à Vancouver, on trouve notamment Sony Pictures Imageworks, Industrial Light & Magic (ILM), Piranha Games et EA Canada. 

Vancouver héberge trois des cinq licornes technologiques du Canada (ou narvals comme on dit au Canada), à savoir Slack, Hootsuite et Avigilon.

Sources :

https://www.encyclopediecanadienne.ca/fr/article/colombie-britannique/

http://www.investircanada.ca/

Millenials Travel Trends

Habitudes de voyage des milléniaux: l’industrie hôtelière en transformation

Aujourd’hui, les milléniaux représentent entre 22 et 27% de la population. D’ici 2030, ils représenteront 76% de la masse salariale. Il apparait donc comme indispensable que l’industrie du voyage s’adapte à ces voyageurs.


Décryptage des classes de tarifs Air Canada

Voyager n'est pas toujours simple, surtout lorsqu'il s'agit de voyager en avion. Ainsi, nous avons décidé de décrypter les classes tarifaires d'Air Canada et de vous faire présenter les avantages qui les accompagnent. Cela vous aidera la prochaine fois que vous voyagerez.


Devrait-on utiliser un véhicule personnel pour les voyages professionnels ?

Décider de permettre ou non à vos employés d'utiliser leur véhicule personnel pour des voyages d'affaires peut être une décision difficile à prendre. Pour prendre cette décision, il faut tenir compte des besoins de vos employés et de votre organisation. Revoyons les avantages et les inconvénients de l'utilisation d'un véhicule personnel !


Explorez : La flotte canadienne des véhicules d’Enterprise Rent-a-Car

La création, la mise en œuvre et la gestion d'un programme de location de voitures peut être un casse-tête majeur pour tout gestionnaire de voyages. Quels types de voitures devriez-vous permettre à vos voyageurs de louer ? Voici une infographie utile qui vous aidera à parcourir la flotte canadienne des véhicules d'Enterprise Rent-a-Car.


Est-il Temps d’Intégrer l‘Hébergement chez l’Hôte lors des Voyages d’Affaires ?

Nous avons décidé de vous concocter une liste des pours et des contres dont nous vous recommandons de tenir compte afin d'évaluer s'il est temps pour votre entreprise d'autoriser l'hébergement chez l'hôte dans votre politique de voyage.